Nevada County Fair Announces 24th Annual Horse Classic Awards

This post was written by jd on October 8, 2010
Posted Under: nevada county fair
Meadowlake - Belgians

Meadowlake - Belgians

Awards for the 24th annual Draft Horse Classic, held September 23 – 26 at the Nevada County Fairgrounds in Grass Valley, have been announced.  Larry Honsberger from Elmore, Ohio, judged the Draft Horse competitions and halter show. Dwight Gilbert from Nevada was the judge of the pulling contest; and Austin Edens, visiting from Dripping Springs, Texas, was the horseshoe judge.

Draft horse exhibitors from California, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Idaho competed for more than $35,000 in premium awards. The competitions took place during six performances over the four-day event.

The winner of the Six-Up Ultimate Hitch Championship was Danielle Simpson of Simpson Percherons, from Rio Vista, California. The second place award for Six-Up Ultimate Hitch Championship was Norman Yoder, driving for Laurelbrook Belgians, owned by Larry and Sally Harris of Camarillo, California.

For the fourth consecutive year, Danielle Simpson was recognized as the outstanding lady driver, accumulating high points to win the Susan Parnell High Point Perpetual Award.

Excelling in farm type classes, Mel Fischer of Big Feather Shires in Lincoln, California, won the high point competition for the Andy Amsbaugh Teamster Award.

The Teamster of the Year Award was presented to Norman Carman of Carman Ranch, an honor bestowed upon him by the voting of his fellow teamsters. The award presentation was made by Bonnie Reed of Allied Insurance Company, a sponsor of this special award.

Bill Adams of the Draft Horse & Mule Association presented their special Teamster Award to Jeff Shinn of Placerville, California. Tara Covell of Covell’s California Clydesdales in Cambria, California, won the Youth of the Show award.

The Overall Supreme Champion horse was Land Cliff Master, owned by Arlin Wareing of Blackfoot, Idaho.  Simpsons Addison was Grand Champion Mare and Simpsons Hammer Time was Grand Champion Stallion. Both champions are from Simpson Percherons.

The Overall High Point Winner in the 2010 Edward Martin Perpetual Horseshoeing Competition was Nick Rossi. The remaining ribbons for overall points went to Matt Fatchen – 2nd place, and Robbie Mederos – 3rd place.

A complete list of 2010 Draft Horse Classic awards has been posted on the Nevada County Fairgrounds’ website at www.NevadaCountyFair.com.

The 2011 Draft Horse Classic will be a celebration of its 25th year and is scheduled for September 22 – 25. Tickets will go on sale on May 1, 2011.  Visit www.NevadaCountyFair.com for more information.

By Wendy Oaks
Publicist, Nevada County Fairgrounds
(530) 273-6217

Comments are closed.